Web art work help

8 replies to this topic

#1 Hybrid

• 10 posts

Posted 09 October 2009 - 18:58

Hi Guys,

I'm currently trying to design a website for my camp that I work for. I am not getting paid for this website so I cannot pay anyone to help me. My boss doesn't even know I am designing this site. I'm doing it secretly because his one is so outdated that it makes me cry looking at it (lol j/k). But it does need an upgrade! So I'm trying to do it in my free time. Which is every day at the moment as I am jobless and can't find a job!

Anyway my bosses site is located at: http://www.watonka.com

Basically I've started on a template, although got no where yet because I lack the artist eye. I was wondering if someone could give me advice in photoshop or help to teach me some skills. I know how to use photoshop and have somewhat basic/intermediate abilities with it but I'm just an awful artist until I teach myself.

I've researched quite a bit and I like designs like this: www.biglake.org Although I don't want to copy / steal the style it's just some of the techniques he used I would like to learn.

Our camp is a science camp so it is important that the site appear science oriented hopefully with a techie touch. Anyone here reckon they can give an very old oldbie a free hand?

Thanks,
Your original host,
Tom (hybrid) 8|

Edited by Hybrid, 09 October 2009 - 19:01.

#2 Slightly Wonky Robob

Not a Wonky Gent.

• Administrator
  • 9333 posts

Posted 09 October 2009 - 19:29

Don't know really where to start, but there are a whole bunch of Photoshop: web layout tuts on tutorialized.com

If you have more specific questions, like how do I make x, then I'd be glad to try and help. 8|
Posted Image
F O R T H E N S
Posted Image

#3 Hybrid

• 10 posts

Posted 09 October 2009 - 20:07