Solutions to global warming?

183 replies to this topic

#1 Dauth

<Custom title available>

• Gold Member
  • 11193 posts

Posted 20 February 2008 - 17:48

Ok, I am a scientist and there is something I don't know, so I'm doing a bit of research. What solutions are there to the problem of global warming (given that the globe is warming up and it is the fault of humantiy, beyond the norms of temperature change in recent history)?

I don't want dogmatic preachings I want an actual sceintifically viable solution.

Well?

#2 G-sus

batshit insane

• 802 posts
  • Projects: Coding Skynet

Posted 20 February 2008 - 19:14

well there kinda is a problem, you cant produce cold.
all you can do is move the heat (which causes heat normally too, cuz no machine works at 100% efficiency), but where to move?
there may be a solution by shielding a part of the solar radiation from earth for some time, but that´s not only damn difficult, but also a major trouble too, cuz then we (and all plants, animals and other stuff) will recieve less energy.
which will force us to produce more energy by burning stuff, which will produce more heat...
so all in all, i doubt that there is any solution.
Posted Image
(Sig by The DR)

True beauty comes from heart and mind.
(but perfection has also big boobs)

#3 Foxhound

Ain't no rest for the wicked.

• Gold Member
  • 2027 posts

Posted 20 February 2008 - 19:37

See my sig. ;)

But in all seriousness, what could you do, really? If you tried to take something from one of the colder parts of earth (to be simple, a big hunk of ice) that would merely increase the temperature of the region and sooner or later, everything else. Like G-Sus said, if we try to cool things off in the ways we know how, we just create more heat.
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#4 Shirou

Humble darkspawn

• 3328 posts

Posted 21 February 2008 - 16:51